Molly Maid vs. Merry Maids vs. Two Maids
Three residential cleaning franchises with low investment and very different Item 19 formats. Every figure below comes from each brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document, with its evidence tier. Where a brand did not disclose something, the cell says so.
Molly Maid (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $144,150 to $203,950. Royalty plus ad fund total 5% of sales. Item 19 is present but discloses no single annual average. Franchised outlets moved from 481 to 432 between 2023 and 2025 (-49), with 21 openings, 70 exits and 48 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
Merry Maids (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $126,875 to $169,325. Royalty plus ad fund total 8.3% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $391,007 across 644 units for CY2025. Franchised outlets moved from 905 to 684 between 2023 and 2025 (-221), with 47 openings, 268 exits and 113 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
Two Maids (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $93,440 to $149,890. Royalty plus ad fund total 8% of sales. Item 19 is present but discloses no single annual average. Item 20 outlet trends are incomplete in the reviewed source. Evidence confidence: High.
| Metric | Molly Maid | Merry Maids | Two Maids |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Category | Home services FDD | Home services FDD | Home services FDD |
| FDD year | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD |
| Total outlets (latest FY) | 432 FDD | 684 FDD | 184 FDD |
| Investment | |||
| Total investment (Item 7) | $144,150 – $203,950 FDD | $126,875 – $169,325 FDD | $93,440 – $149,890 FDD |
| Initial franchise fee (named Item 5 fee only) | $14,900 FDD | $55,000 FDD | $19,950 FDD |
| Fees | |||
| Royalty | 3% FDD | 7% FDD | 6% FDD |
| Ad / brand fund | 2% FDD | 1.3% FDD | 2% FDD |
| Royalty + ad fund Sum where both are a percent of sales |
5% Derived | 8.3% Derived | 8% Derived |
| Disclosed performance | |||
| Item 19 present | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Average unit sales (annual) Populations differ by brand — read each profile |
No annual average disclosed N/D | $391,007 FDD | No annual average disclosed N/D |
| Median unit sales | Not disclosed N/D | $299,059 FDD | Not disclosed N/D |
| Cost / profit data in Item 19 | No FDD | No FDD | Yes (see profile for population) FDD |
| AUV ÷ midpoint investment | Not enough evidence N/D | 2.64× Derived | Not enough evidence N/D |
| System health (Item 20) | |||
| Franchised unit change | -49 (-10.2%) 2023–2025 Derived | -221 (-24.4%) 2023–2025 Derived | Not disclosed N/D |
| Openings (period) | 21 FDD | 47 FDD | Not disclosed N/D |
| Exits (period) Terminations + non-renewals + reacquisitions + ceased-other |
70 Derived | 268 Derived | 22 Derived |
| Avg. annual attrition | 5% Derived | 10.8% Derived | 5.9% Derived |
| Transfers (period) | 48 FDD | 113 FDD | 29 FDD |
| Operations | |||
| Owner involvement (Item 15) | Owner-operator required FDD | Manager-run permitted FDD | Manager-run permitted FDD |
| Multi-unit program disclosed | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Estimates | |||
| Economics model available | No (insufficient disclosure) | Yes — model estimate on profile | No (insufficient disclosure) |
| Ratings | |||
| Financial Disclosure Quality | 4 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived |
| System Growth | 1 / 5 Derived | 1 / 5 Derived | Not enough evidence Derived |
| Unit Stability | 3 / 5 Derived | 1 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived |
| Investment Efficiency | Not enough evidence Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | Not enough evidence Derived |
| Evidence Confidence | High Derived | High Derived | High Derived |
Populations behind AUV figures differ (mature units, all units, gross vs. net sales). Growth and attrition are our arithmetic on Item 20. Open each profile for citations, caveats and the full Item 19 and Item 20 tables. Edit this comparison to swap brands.