Servpro vs. PuroClean vs. 1-800 WATER DAMAGE

Three restoration franchises: one with no Item 19 and two with detailed sales distributions. Every figure below comes from each brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document, with its evidence tier. Where a brand did not disclose something, the cell says so.

Servpro (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $263,305 to $385,570. Royalty plus ad fund total 6% of sales. There is no Item 19 financial performance representation. Franchised outlets moved from 2,114 to 2,354 between 2023 and 2025 (+240), with 271 openings, 32 exits and 382 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.

PuroClean (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $108,503 to $277,118. Royalty plus ad fund total 5% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $941,644 across 393 units for CY2025. Franchised outlets moved from 349 to 433 between 2023 and 2025 (+84), with 141 openings, 57 exits and 42 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.

1-800 WATER DAMAGE (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $142,903 to $312,398. Royalty plus ad fund total 9% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $770,375 across 78 units for 2025-12-31. Franchised outlets moved from 167 to 160 between 2023 and 2025 (-7), with 47 openings, 54 exits and 23 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.

MetricServproPuroClean1-800 WATER DAMAGE
Overview
Category Home services FDDHome services FDDHome services FDD
FDD year 2026 FDD2026 FDD2026 FDD
Total outlets (latest FY) 2,354 FDD433 FDD160 FDD
Investment
Total investment (Item 7) $263,305 – $385,570 FDD$108,503 – $277,118 FDD$142,903 – $312,398 FDD
Initial franchise fee (named Item 5 fee only) $100,000 FDD$59,000 FDD$64,950 FDD
Fees
Royalty 3% FDD3% FDD7% FDD
Ad / brand fund 3% FDD2% FDD2% FDD
Royalty + ad fund
Sum where both are a percent of sales
6% Derived5% Derived9% Derived
Disclosed performance
Item 19 present No FDDYes FDDYes FDD
Average unit sales (annual)
Populations differ by brand — read each profile
No Item 19 N/D$941,644 FDD$770,375 FDD
Median unit sales Not disclosed N/D$500,496 FDD$481,891 FDD
Cost / profit data in Item 19 No FDDNo FDDNo FDD
AUV ÷ midpoint investment Not enough evidence N/D4.88× Derived3.38× Derived
System health (Item 20)
Franchised unit change +240 (+11.4%) 2023–2025 Derived+84 (+24.1%) 2023–2025 Derived-7 (-4.2%) 2023–2025 Derived
Openings (period) 271 FDD141 FDD47 FDD
Exits (period)
Terminations + non-renewals + reacquisitions + ceased-other
32 Derived57 Derived54 Derived
Avg. annual attrition 0.5% Derived4.9% Derived10.3% Derived
Transfers (period) 382 FDD42 FDD23 FDD
Operations
Owner involvement (Item 15) Owner-operator required FDDOwner-operator required FDDOwner-operator required FDD
Multi-unit program disclosed Yes FDDYes FDDYes FDD
Estimates
Economics model available No (insufficient disclosure)Yes — model estimate on profileYes — model estimate on profile
Ratings
Financial Disclosure Quality 1 / 5 Derived4 / 5 Derived3 / 5 Derived
System Growth 4 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived2 / 5 Derived
Unit Stability 5 / 5 Derived3 / 5 Derived1 / 5 Derived
Investment Efficiency Not enough evidence Derived5 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived
Evidence Confidence High DerivedHigh DerivedHigh Derived

Populations behind AUV figures differ (mature units, all units, gross vs. net sales). Growth and attrition are our arithmetic on Item 20. Open each profile for citations, caveats and the full Item 19 and Item 20 tables. Edit this comparison to swap brands.

Profiles in this comparison