Midas vs. Meineke Car Care Centers vs. Christian Brothers Automotive

Three general automotive repair concepts: two legacy systems and one landlord-model newcomer. Every figure below comes from each brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document, with its evidence tier. Where a brand did not disclose something, the cell says so.

Midas (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $385,450 to $940,050. Its royalty is not a simple percent of sales (see profile). Item 19 is present but discloses no single annual average. Franchised outlets moved from 971 to 889 between 2023 and 2025 (-82), with 57 openings, 139 exits and 156 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.

Meineke Car Care Centers (2025 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $224,898 to $1,200,818. Royalty plus ad fund total 11% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $971,221 across 549 units for FY2024. Franchised outlets moved from 706 to 716 between 2022 and 2024 (+10), with 87 openings, 77 exits and 184 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.

Christian Brothers Automotive (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $515,250 to $650,400. Its royalty is not a simple percent of sales (see profile). Item 19 reports average unit sales of $2,865,872 across 302 units for 2025-12-31. Franchised outlets moved from 265 to 326 between 2023 and 2025 (+61), with 61 openings, 0 exits and 47 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.

MetricMidasMeineke Car Care CentersChristian Brothers Automotive
Overview
Category Automotive FDDAutomotive FDDAutomotive FDD
FDD year 2026 FDD2025 FDD2026 FDD
Total outlets (latest FY) 1,000 FDD716 FDD326 FDD
Investment
Total investment (Item 7) $385,450 – $940,050 FDD$224,898 – $1,200,818 FDD$515,250 – $650,400 FDD
Initial franchise fee (named Item 5 fee only) $35,000 FDD$45,000 FDD$85,000 FDD
Fees
Royalty 10% FDD3% FDDOther basis: 50% (see basis) FDD
Ad / brand fund Not disclosed N/D8% FDDNot disclosed N/D
Royalty + ad fund
Sum where both are a percent of sales
Not comparable N/D11% DerivedNot comparable N/D
Disclosed performance
Item 19 present Yes FDDYes FDDYes FDD
Average unit sales (annual)
Populations differ by brand — read each profile
No annual average disclosed N/D$971,221 FDD$2,865,872 FDD
Median unit sales Not disclosed N/D$913,607 FDD$2,702,696 FDD
Cost / profit data in Item 19 No FDDYes (see profile for population) FDDYes (see profile for population) FDD
AUV ÷ midpoint investment Not enough evidence N/D1.36× Derived4.92× Derived
System health (Item 20)
Franchised unit change -82 (-8.4%) 2023–2025 Derived+10 (+1.4%) 2022–2024 Derived+61 (+23.0%) 2023–2025 Derived
Openings (period) 57 FDD87 FDD61 FDD
Exits (period)
Terminations + non-renewals + reacquisitions + ceased-other
139 Derived77 Derived0 Derived
Avg. annual attrition 4.8% Derived3.6% Derived0% Derived
Transfers (period) 156 FDD184 FDD47 FDD
Operations
Owner involvement (Item 15) Owner-operator required FDDManager-run permitted FDDOwner-operator required FDD
Multi-unit program disclosed Not disclosed / not offered N/DYes FDDNot disclosed / not offered N/D
Estimates
Economics model available No (insufficient disclosure)Yes — model estimate on profileYes — model estimate on profile
Ratings
Financial Disclosure Quality 3 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived
System Growth 1 / 5 Derived3 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived
Unit Stability 3 / 5 Derived4 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived
Investment Efficiency Not enough evidence Derived3 / 5 Derived5 / 5 Derived
Evidence Confidence High DerivedHigh DerivedHigh Derived

Populations behind AUV figures differ (mature units, all units, gross vs. net sales). Growth and attrition are our arithmetic on Item 20. Open each profile for citations, caveats and the full Item 19 and Item 20 tables. Edit this comparison to swap brands.

Profiles in this comparison