Jiffy Lube vs. Take 5 Oil Change vs. Valvoline Instant Oil Change
Three quick-lube systems with very different investment levels and ownership structures. Every figure below comes from each brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document, with its evidence tier. Where a brand did not disclose something, the cell says so.
Jiffy Lube (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $232,000 to $520,000. Royalty plus ad fund total 5.5% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $1,109,719 across 1,732 units for CY2025. Franchised outlets moved from 1,683 to 1,765 between 2023 and 2025 (+82), with 145 openings, 63 exits and 159 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
Take 5 Oil Change (2025 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $912,248 to $2,053,642. Royalty plus ad fund total 12% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $1,235,518 across 323 units for FY2024. Franchised outlets moved from 134 to 432 between 2022 and 2024 (+298), with 304 openings, 6 exits and 7 transfers. Evidence confidence: Medium.
Valvoline Instant Oil Change (2025 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $192,375 to $639,550. Royalty plus ad fund total 8% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $1,844,172 across 891 units for FY2025. Item 20 outlet trends are incomplete in the reviewed source. Evidence confidence: High.
| Metric | Jiffy Lube | Take 5 Oil Change | Valvoline Instant Oil Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Category | Automotive FDD | Automotive FDD | Automotive FDD |
| FDD year | 2026 FDD | 2025 FDD | 2025 FDD |
| Total outlets (latest FY) | 2,083 FDD | 1,142 FDD | 2,039 FDD |
| Investment | |||
| Total investment (Item 7) | $232,000 – $520,000 FDD | $912,248 – $2,053,642 FDD | $192,375 – $639,550 FDD |
| Initial franchise fee (named Item 5 fee only) | $35,000 FDD | $45,000 FDD | $30,000 FDD |
| Fees | |||
| Royalty | 4% FDD | 7% FDD | 6% FDD |
| Ad / brand fund | 1.5% FDD | 5% FDD | 2% FDD |
| Royalty + ad fund Sum where both are a percent of sales |
5.5% Derived | 12% Derived | 8% Derived |
| Disclosed performance | |||
| Item 19 present | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Average unit sales (annual) Populations differ by brand — read each profile |
$1,109,719 FDD | $1,235,518 FDD | $1,844,172 FDD |
| Median unit sales | $1,004,273 FDD | $1,137,962 FDD | $1,704,870 FDD |
| Cost / profit data in Item 19 | No FDD | Yes (see profile for population) FDD | Yes (see profile for population) FDD |
| AUV ÷ midpoint investment | 2.95× Derived | 0.83× Derived | 4.43× Derived |
| System health (Item 20) | |||
| Franchised unit change | +82 (+4.9%) 2023–2025 Derived | +298 (+222.4%) 2022–2024 Derived | Not disclosed N/D |
| Openings (period) | 145 FDD | 304 FDD | Not disclosed N/D |
| Exits (period) Terminations + non-renewals + reacquisitions + ceased-other |
63 Derived | 6 Derived | Not disclosed N/D |
| Avg. annual attrition | 1.2% Derived | 0.9% Derived | Not disclosed N/D |
| Transfers (period) | 159 FDD | 7 FDD | 60 FDD |
| Operations | |||
| Owner involvement (Item 15) | Manager-run permitted FDD | Manager-run permitted FDD | Manager-run permitted FDD |
| Multi-unit program disclosed | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Estimates | |||
| Economics model available | Yes — model estimate on profile | Yes — model estimate on profile | Yes — model estimate on profile |
| Ratings | |||
| Financial Disclosure Quality | 4 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived |
| System Growth | 3 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | Not enough evidence Derived |
| Unit Stability | 5 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | Not enough evidence Derived |
| Investment Efficiency | 5 / 5 Derived | 2 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived |
| Evidence Confidence | High Derived | Medium Derived | High Derived |
Populations behind AUV figures differ (mature units, all units, gross vs. net sales). Growth and attrition are our arithmetic on Item 20. Open each profile for citations, caveats and the full Item 19 and Item 20 tables. Edit this comparison to swap brands.