Anytime Fitness vs. Planet Fitness vs. Orangetheory Fitness vs. F45 Training
Four fitness systems spanning the investment spectrum from boutique studio to big-box gym. Every figure below comes from each brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document, with its evidence tier. Where a brand did not disclose something, the cell says so.
Anytime Fitness (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $539,329 to $905,482. Its royalty is not a simple percent of sales (see profile). Item 19 reports average unit sales of $446,814 across 1,683 units for 12 months ended Feb 28, 2026. Franchised outlets moved from 2,318 to 2,271 between 2023 and 2025 (-47), with 146 openings, 193 exits and 619 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
Planet Fitness (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $1,282,500 to $5,386,000. Its royalty is not a simple percent of sales (see profile). Item 19 is present but discloses no single annual average. Franchised outlets moved from 2,082 to 2,432 between 2023 and 2025 (+350), with 364 openings, 14 exits and 441 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
Orangetheory Fitness (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $764,577 to $1,104,920. Royalty plus ad fund total 11% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $802,145 across 1,189 units for 12 months ended 2026-02-28. Franchised outlets moved from 1,281 to 1,209 between 2023 and 2025 (-72), with 93 openings, 165 exits and 290 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
F45 Training (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $362,300 to $857,700. Royalty plus ad fund total 9% of sales. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $480,832 across 676 units for March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2026. Franchised outlets moved from 728 to 706 between 2023 and 2025 (-22), with 196 openings, 216 exits and 157 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
| Metric | Anytime Fitness | Planet Fitness | Orangetheory Fitness | F45 Training |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||||
| Category | Fitness & wellness FDD | Fitness & wellness FDD | Fitness & wellness FDD | Fitness & wellness FDD |
| FDD year | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD |
| Total outlets (latest FY) | 2,282 FDD | 2,709 FDD | 1,224 FDD | 708 FDD |
| Investment | ||||
| Total investment (Item 7) | $539,329 – $905,482 FDD | $1,282,500 – $5,386,000 FDD | $764,577 – $1,104,920 FDD | $362,300 – $857,700 FDD |
| Initial franchise fee (named Item 5 fee only) | $42,500 FDD | $40,000 FDD | $59,950 FDD | $60,000 FDD |
| Fees | ||||
| Royalty | Other basis: $842/month FDD | Other basis: 7% (see basis) FDD | 8% FDD | 7% FDD |
| Ad / brand fund | Not disclosed N/D | Not disclosed N/D | 3% FDD | 2% FDD |
| Royalty + ad fund Sum where both are a percent of sales |
Not comparable N/D | Not comparable N/D | 11% Derived | 9% Derived |
| Disclosed performance | ||||
| Item 19 present | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Average unit sales (annual) Populations differ by brand — read each profile |
$446,814 FDD | No annual average disclosed N/D | $802,145 FDD | $480,832 FDD |
| Median unit sales | $398,982 FDD | Not disclosed N/D | $750,643 FDD | $429,222 FDD |
| Cost / profit data in Item 19 | Yes (see profile for population) FDD | Yes (see profile for population) FDD | No FDD | No FDD |
| AUV ÷ midpoint investment | 0.62× Derived | Not enough evidence N/D | 0.86× Derived | 0.79× Derived |
| System health (Item 20) | ||||
| Franchised unit change | -47 (-2.0%) 2023–2025 Derived | +350 (+16.8%) 2023–2025 Derived | -72 (-5.6%) 2023–2025 Derived | -22 (-3.0%) 2023–2025 Derived |
| Openings (period) | 146 FDD | 364 FDD | 93 FDD | 196 FDD |
| Exits (period) Terminations + non-renewals + reacquisitions + ceased-other |
193 Derived | 14 Derived | 165 Derived | 216 Derived |
| Avg. annual attrition | 2.8% Derived | 0.2% Derived | 4.3% Derived | 9.5% Derived |
| Transfers (period) | 619 FDD | 441 FDD | 290 FDD | 157 FDD |
| Operations | ||||
| Owner involvement (Item 15) | Manager-run permitted FDD | Owner-operator required FDD | Manager-run permitted FDD | Manager-run permitted FDD |
| Multi-unit program disclosed | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Not disclosed / not offered N/D |
| Estimates | ||||
| Economics model available | Yes — model estimate on profile | No (insufficient disclosure) | Yes — model estimate on profile | Yes — model estimate on profile |
| Ratings | ||||
| Financial Disclosure Quality | 4 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived |
| System Growth | 2 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | 1 / 5 Derived | 2 / 5 Derived |
| Unit Stability | 4 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived | 2 / 5 Derived |
| Investment Efficiency | 1 / 5 Derived | Not enough evidence Derived | 2 / 5 Derived | 2 / 5 Derived |
| Evidence Confidence | High Derived | High Derived | High Derived | High Derived |
Populations behind AUV figures differ (mature units, all units, gross vs. net sales). Growth and attrition are our arithmetic on Item 20. Open each profile for citations, caveats and the full Item 19 and Item 20 tables. Edit this comparison to swap brands.